“Academic, dear Watson.”

Our second guest blog comes from the fingertips of California-based author Farah Shaw, talking to us about her Sherlock Academy series, which draws on much Sherlockian history, bringing what we may be familiar with to a new, and we hope appreciative, audience.

image

When Rollie and his best friend Cecily are invited to attend a school where children learn the art of detection just like the great Sherlock Holmes, they discover a strange burglary has been committed and a mystery is afoot. Determined to investigate, Rollie discovers that appearances can be deceiving, the truth can be hurtful, and friends sometimes turn into foes.

I am the author of the new middle-grade mystery Sherlock Academy out by Future House Publishing. My book is geared for readers 8-12, and any Sherlockian for that matter. At eighteen chapters and 204 pages, it is a good book for bridging the gap between early chapter books and longer middle-grade novels.

I became an avid Sherlockian when I read Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s entire Holmes collection in junior high. I developed my first literary crush on Holmes, and continued an unwavering devotion since. A few years ago when I was searching for the next children’s story to write, I heeded the old adage: write what you know. Furthermore I followed the more important adage: write what you love. And Sherlock Academy was conceived.

I am often asked the reason I write, and more specifically, the reason I wrote Sherlock Academy. While there is a myriad of reasons ranging from philosophical (I write so my soul will stay alive), to personal (I write because I have stories to tell), to practical (I write to have an excuse to leave my two kids and go to Starbucks), the main reason I wrote Sherlock Academy was the following: to create the next generation of Sherlockians.

In the world of Sherlock Academy, Holmes, Watson, all the other supporting characters, and all their cases are real. While they do not appear in my book (for the year is 1931, and these figures have long been gone), my book is peppered with Sherlockian references and facts, so readers new to Sherlock Holmes will learn about him and his history, and old fans will enjoy the Sherlock tie-ins.

image image

Sherlock Academy is the first book of what will be a 5-book series, and is available on Amazon in hardcover and ebook, and in select Barnes and Nobles and Costcos. Book 2 is due for release in early autumn. Please visit http://www.sherlockacademy.com for more info, and feel free to email me questions and comments at sherlockacademy@yahoo.com. I am also on Facebook (www.facebook.com/sherlockacademy) , Instagram @sherlockacademy, and Twitter @sherlockacademy.

For more great middle-grade and YA fiction, check out Future House’s other new titles at http://www.futurehousepublishing.com

Leave a Reply

